Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Final trials and completion of the SMIS project


The final trials of BMWi project SMIS (project duration 01/2013-06/2016) took place from 9th to 20th of May 2016 aiming at both testing and demonstrating all vehicles that where developed within the project collectively.

 

SMIS


Together with colleagues from University of Rostock, TU Berlin, as well as participating companies Enitech and IMPaC from Rostock and Hamburg, respectively, the vehicles were tested thoroughly from a base set up at the “Kieswerk” Güttingen on the Swiss side of Lake Constance. The lakes depth of up to 251m and its mostly calm surface proved to be ideal for testing the cooperation of all SMIS-vehicles: an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV), an unmanned surface vehicle (USV) and a sea-bed-station dedicated to recharge the AUVs.
From the IPR’s point of view, focus was on applying three IPR-developed components/modules to real-world application: a trajectory controller for both AUV and USVs enabling them to follow a previously designed mission plan; an “acoustic-following”-module making the USV autonomously follow the submerged AUV through acoustic localization; and locating the SBS acoustically on the lake’s bottom.
The vehicle cooperation was then successfully demonstrated to invited guests and persons in charge from PTJ, IMPaC and Prof. Wörn from IPR, on Thursday 19th of May.
Further details regarding SMIS can be found at smis-monitoring.de.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Abschluss des Projektes SMIS


Zum BMWi-Projekt "Subsea Monitoring via Intelligent Swarms" (SMIS, Laufzeit 01/2013-06/2016) fanden am 9. bis 20. Mai 2016 die letzten Erprobungen statt, bei der final alle entwickelten Fahrzeuge im Verbund getestet und demonstriert wurden.

 

SMIS

Gemeinsam mit den Kollegen der Universität Rostock, der TU Berlin, sowie der Partnerfirmen Enitech und IMPaC aus Rostock bzw. Hamburg wurden die entwickelten Fahrzeuge ausgiebig vom Industriehafen/Kieswerk Güttingen auf der Schweizer Seite des Bodensees erprobt. Dessen Tiefe (bis zu 251m) und ruhige Oberfläche erwiesen sich als ideal zur Untersuchung des Zusammenspiels aller im Projekt gebauten Vehikel: ein autonomes Unterwasserfahrzeug (AUV), ein Oberflächenfahrzeug (USV) und eine Bodenstation (SBS) zum Wiederaufladen der AUVs.
Seitens des IPR lag der Fokus auf dem Test dreier Teilkomponenten, die am IPR entwickelt bzw. umgesetzt wurden: ein Bahnregler für AUV und USV, wodurch diese autonom einen zuvor erstellten Missionsplan ausführen können; ein „Acoustic-Following“-Modul, mit dem das USV dem getauchten AUV mittels akustischer Lokalisierung selbständig folgt; sowie das akustische Einmessen/Positionieren der SBS mittels USV.
Das Zusammenspiel der Fahrzeuge wurde dann am Donnerstag, dem 19.5., den eingeladenen Gästen und Verantwortlichen vom Projektträger Jülich, IMPaC und Prof. Wörn vom IPR erfolgreich live demonstriert.
Mehr Details zu dem Projekt stehen u.a. auf smis-monitoring.de zur Verfügung.