Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
Contact

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology - KIT

Campus South

Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics (IAR) -
Intelligent Process Control and Robotics (IPR)
Building 40.28
Engler-Bunte-Ring 8
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics (IAR) - Intelligent Process Control and Robotics (IPR)

The IPR is a research lab within the Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics (IAR). It does research in the fields of industrial, service and medical robotics.

robot hand In the area of industrial and service robotics, the IPR is studying robot-based production and (personal) assistance systems with special focus on using robots in both autonomous and collaborative scenarios. This includes systems in industrial as well as domestic environments. Within an industrial context, typical applications arise in collision free trajectory planning, calibration and new types of programming and iteration schemes. Within a domestic context, typical applications concern assistance systems supporting people in everyday life - like exo-skeletons and robot-based aiding systems for walking and standing up. Further, comprehensive technologies concerning novel sensor systems like visual and haptic sensors, proximity sensors, plus actuator systems like multi-finger manipulators, haptic displays and their necessary respective algorithms for grasp planning, tactile exploration, 2D/3D image processing etc. are being researched.

 

MEGI-Lab

Furthermore, the IPR studies Hardware solutions and diagnostic and control systems for future production facilities. Applications arise in, e.g., underwater oil and gas mining factories, anticipatory maintenance of offshore facilities, flexible robot-based connection of production and transportation processes, control of robotic teams and swarms and manipulation tasks by micro robots.

Concerning medical robotics, the central topic studied by IPR relate to robot assisted diagnosis and therapy with a special focus on model and knowledge-based surgery for the future operating room. This includes sensor-enhanced autonomous robots for bone adaptations as well as the manipulation of medical tools and objects. Another area of interest relates to telemanipulated robotics for minimal-invasive surgery using flexible instruments and optical fiber sensors for localization and force gauging. Cognitive knowledge-based methods are supposed to lead to a tighter bond of different work processes in the operating room via an intuitive Human-Machine-Interface. This is founded on operation planning systems both for surgical interventions and operation scheduling. Within this context, research concerning verification methods for improved safety is of major importance.

News

SMIS_Titelfoto
Final trials and completion of the SMIS project

Between May 9th and 20th 2016, the final “at-sea” trials and demonstrations of the BMWi project “Subsea Monitoring via Intelligent Swarms“ (SMIS) took place.

More...
Praktikum
Es gibt noch freie Praktikaplätze für das SS 2016

Derzeit sind noch Themen für das Projektpraktikum "Robotik und Automation I und II" frei. Informationen dazu befinden sich im ILIAS-Portal des KIT.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT
Kontakt

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie - KIT

Campus Süd

Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik (IAR) -
Intelligente Prozessautomation und Robotik (IPR)

Gebäude 40.28
Engler-Bunte-Ring 8
D-76131 Karlsruhe

Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik (IAR) - Intelligente Prozessautomation und Robotik (IPR)

Das IPR ist ein Forschungslabor im Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik (IAR) und forscht auf den Gebieten Industrie-, Service- und Medizinrobotik.

Roboterhand Im Bereich der Industrie- und Servicerobotik werden roboterbasierte Produktions- und Assistenzsysteme erforscht, die insbesondere den Einsatz von Robotern sowohl in autonomen als auch kollaborativen Anwendungsszenarien untersuchen. Dazu zählen sowohl Systeme im industriellen als auch im häuslichen Umfeld. Typische Anwendungsszenarien im industriellen Kontext sind kollisionsfreie Bahnplanung, Kalibrierung und neuartige Programmier- und Interaktionsverfahren. Typische Anwendungsszenarien im häuslichen Umfeld sind Assistenzsysteme, die Menschen im Lebensalltag unterstützen z.B. Exoskelette, roboterbasierte Geh- und Aufstehhilfen. Als übergreifende Technologien werden neuartige Sensorsysteme wie z.B. visuelle und haptische Sensoren, Näherungssensoren sowie Aktorsysteme, z.B. Mehrfinger-Greifer, haptische Displays sowie die darauf aufbauenden Algorithmen, z.B. Greifplanung, taktile Exploration, 2D/3D-Bildverarbeitung erforscht.

 

MEGI-LaborFür Produktionssysteme der Zukunft werden Hardwarelösungen sowie Diagnose-, Steuerungs- und Regelungssysteme erforscht. Anwendungsszenarien sind z.B. Unterwasser-Produktionssysteme für Öl und Gas, vorausschauende Wartung von Offshore-Anlagen, flexible roboterbasierte Verkettung von Produktions- und Logistik-Prozessen, Steuerung und Regelung für Roboterteams und –schwärme, Manipulationsaufgaben mit Mikrorobotern.

Im Bereich der Medizinrobotik ist das zentrale Thema am IPR die roboterassistierte Diagnose und Therapie. Ein besonderer Fokus wird dabei auf die modell- und wissensbasierte Chirurgie für den Operationssaal der Zukunft gesetzt. Dies umfasst sensorgestützte autonome Roboter für die Knochenbearbeitung und Handhabung medizinischer Werkzeuge sowie medizinischer Objekte. Ein weiteres Arbeitsgebiet ist die telegesteuerte Robotik für die minimal-invasive Chirurgie mit flexiblen Manipulatoren und faseroptischen Sensoren für Lokalisation und Kraftmessung. Kognitive wissensbasierte Methoden sollen zu einer engen Verzahnung der Arbeitsprozesse im Operationssaal über eine intuitive Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle führen. Die Basis hierfür bilden Operationsplanungssysteme sowohl für den chirurgischen Eingriff als auch für die Ablaufplanung einer Operation. In diesem Kontext nimmt die Forschung an Verifikationsmethoden zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit einen hohen Stellenwert ein.

News

Logo_MFI16
Sergej Neumann auf der MFI 2016 in Baden-Baden

Sergej Neumann präsentierte am 20. September 2016 Forschungsergebnisse aus dem Projekt SMIS im Vortrag “Self-Localization by Eavesdropping in Acoustic Underwater Sensor Networks” (Autoren: S. Neumann, D. Oertel, H. Wörn) auf der IEEE International Conference on Multisensor Fusion and Integration for Intelligent Systems (MFI 2016) in der Session „Localization, Tracking and Navigation“ in Baden-Baden. 

Logo_Emergitech
Vortrag auf der Konferenz IEEE EmergiTech 2016 auf Mauritius

Von 3 bis 6 August nahm Professor Wörn an der IEEE International Conference on Emerging Technologies and Innovative Business Practices for the Transformation of Societies (IEEE EmergiTech 2016) auf Mauritius mit einem Vortrag zum Thema „Towards a Generic BRDF/BTF Measu-rement System: Improving Visual Realism in Robot Simulators using Robots“ (Autoren: A. Bihlmaier, F. Stein, H. Wörn) teil.